May Spotlight: Fandoms, Music, & Lifestyle

Since final exams and PATs are fast approaching, I should be studying hard.  Ha.  Studying, what a strange and unfamiliar concept!  Instead, I have been spending my days procrastinating, soaking up internet culture, music, and books.  And here are the fruits of my labour.  Following is a collection of some great things that I have seen/read/listened to in the month of May.

Enjoy!


 

Number one: I watched Captain America: Civil War, and subsequently fell headlong into the vortex of fanfiction, textposts, fan videos, and fanart that is the Stucky fandom.  Was this a good thing?  For my grades and sleep schedule, probably not; for my ship-thirsty fangirl heart, definitely.

Apparently, I wasn’t the only one who thought the storyline and chemistry between Steve and Bucky was something more than a typical bromance.  On Tuesday, May 24, #GiveCaptainAmericaABoyfriend blew up on social media, trending on Twitter, making headlines, and causing upheaval on Tumblr.  It was glorious.

A few tidbits from the social media movement:

Apart from Stucky, CACW was a fantastic movie in and of itself.  Like all productions, it had its flaws, but I loved it.  Advice for anyone wanting to see it: as it is not a stand-alone movie, watch its prequels- preferably all MCU (Marvel Cinematic Universe) movies, but just the Captain America ones work too.


 

Second, I read Mister Death’s Blue-Eyed Girls by Mary Downing Hahn.

Set in the 1950’s, the YA novel centers around Nora Cunningham, a 16-year-old whose life is inextricably changed by the chilling murder of two of her friends.  Based on a true event, Mister Death’s Blue-Eyes Girls is raw, jarring, and truthful in a way that many books about death fail to be.

I’d heard of this book before, but blew it off as yet another murder-mystery-‘deep’-meaning-of-life books.  I thought it would be boring and unoriginal.  I was wrong.  The book resonates with sombre tones of death, the destructive ripple effect of seeking revenge, and the realization of the fragility of life.  Broad, over-done-to-the-point-of-cliche topics, I know, but it’s not pretentious at all.  More like a good ol’ reminder that we’re all going to die someday, and it could be today.


 

Third of all, I went vegetarian for a week.

It was short-lived since my parents don’t know how to cook for a vegetarian, and I’m too busy to cook for myself, but this is definitely a lifestyle I’m interested in pursuing in the future.  After all the vegan-related research, blog-stalking, and Youtube-bingeing that I’ve done, I thought it was time to test the waters.

http://www.eugeneveg.org/img/Page/GoingVeg/matt-bear-tshirt-NEW_1200.jp g

For me, the best part of the whole experience was the choice aspect.  It’s a great feeling to consciously choose something that you know will be better for you, animals, and the environment.


 

Fourth, I spent a weekend binge-watching videos from one of the most underrated Youtubers out there.

Ben J. Pierce, also known as KidPOV *cue jazz hands* creates comedy sketches, Q&A’s, makeup tutorials with a twist, and more (he also released his own single, ‘Little Game’, in 2014).  His content is always creative, unique, and laugh-inducing, and is- my opinion- even better than that of many more famous Youtubers.  Although Ben J. Pierce only has around 100k subscribers as of the moment, the 17-year-old is rapidly gaining momentum.  Honestly, it’s not hard to see why.

Here is one of his most liked videos:

And one of my personal favourite (there’s also a pt. 2):


 

Music

Here are some songs from my May playlist. Album names and Youtube links are provided for all of them! (Warning: twenty one pilots takes up more than 50% of this list, oops.)

Stressed Out (Tomsize Remix) – twenty one pilots (Tomsize remix) – Blurryface (2015)

Trees – twenty one pilots – Vessel (2013)

Truce – twenty one pilots – Vessel (2013)

Kitchen Sink – twenty one pilots – Regional at Best (2011)

Forest – twenty one pilots – Regional at Best (2011)

Doubt – twenty one pilots – Blurryface (2015)

EASE – Troye Sivan (ft. Broods) – Blue Neighbourhood (2015)

Crystals – Of Monsters and Men – Beneath the Skin (2015)

Brother – NEEDTOBREATHE (ft. Gavin DeGraw) – Rivers in the Wasteland (2014)

Robbers – The 1975 – The 1975 (2013)

Settle Down – The 1975 – The 1975 (2013)


 

Hello!

If you liked this sort of mish-mash of movie-book-music-lifestyle blog post, let me know by favoriting, subscribing, or sharing.  I personally rather enjoyed writing this, putting together a compilation of cool things to share with y’all, so you can probably count on seeing more of these!  Only the future will tell if I ever come up with a better name for the series.

What are your favourite movie, books, and songs for this month?   Please feel free to comment them!

If you missed my last blog post, here’s ‘Save The Bees!‘.  And here is my About Page.

Thank you so much for reading and have an ah-MAY-zing day!

Sorry (not sorry),

-Yi Nuo

4 thoughts on “May Spotlight: Fandoms, Music, & Lifestyle”

Leave a Reply

