October Spotlight 2016

It’s November 6th, no longer October, but I simply cannot miss out on a month of Spotlight!  It would be like pouring cereal before milk (yes, I pour milk first, persecute me), or like singing Christmas carols in July- simply atrocious!  Unfortunately, I have procrastinated all of October away, so here I am writing this blog post a week after its technical expiration date.  But never fear, because with poor time management comes great cramming ability!

And so, I (hastily, apologies) present to you: October Spotlight!


Apps

“A smartphone is man’s best friend”, as a very wise and totally not made-up person once said.  This month, I’ve been trying to expand my repertoire of mobile apps.  Some were good, some were bad, and some were merely meh.  Here are my reviews:

(Disclaimer: I have mostly positive things to say about these apps, so don’t mind if they start to sound like some sort of advertisement.  They’re really not- though these companies should sponsor me, because I’d write great ads.)

Unum

I have recently come to terms with the fact that my Instagram is severely lacking in aesthetic.  As a perfectionist, lacking aesthetic is basically the same thing as committing sacrilege.  I’m also a very indecisive person.  For my Instagram feed, this meant tons of posting, deleting, reposting, deliberating, and more deleting.  And in the end, I still wasn’t satisfied!  What a hassle!

Into the picture steps Unum, an app that lets you put pictures into a template of your account to see how they will look once posted.  In the app, you can move photos around on the grid, edit them to perfection, and find your ideal aesthetic.  The setup is extremely simple and easy to get the hang of, and the possibilities are endless.  I can tell that it app will be useful for months, and maybe even years, to come.

Image result for unum appImage result for unum app

Image result for unum app

I love the sleek, minimalist design of the app, as well as their website, which you can find right here!  If you’re passionate about the aesthetic of your Instagram feed, this is definitely the app for you!  Bonus: it’s free.

One con I have to say about this app is that you cannot access it without internet.  It would be just a bit more convenient if the app could load your pre-existing Insta photos even without internet, so that people without data plans can still use the app on the fly.

Rainy Mood

Who else loves the sound of rain?  It’s such a nice ambience for pretty much anything that you’re doing, be it sleeping, working, eating, or procrastinating.

Image result for rainy mood

I introduce to you: Rainy Mood.  It’s an endless, seamless soundtrack of relaxing drizzling sounds, complete with gentle thunder and the occasional undulating downpour.  Listeners can access the website, http://www.rainymood.com, for free, or buy the app for $3.99 (available on Apple and Android).


Websites

Influenster

Getting a free box of beauty goodies sounds too good to be true, doesn’t it?  But not with Influenster, a website/app/organization/company that sends members boxes of free beauty goodies.  All you have to do is create an account, build up points by doing some easy things they tell you to do (like acting as an ambassador on social media), and review products on their site.

Image result for influenster

After perusing this Buzzfeed article, I discovered Influenster.  At first, I was extremely suspicious.  Free things from the internet?  What sort of fool do you take me for?  Yet, I was intrigued- mostly because I’d been sadly browsing the Lush website, looking at face masks that were way out of my budget.  The next day, after scouring the internet for forums and articles confirming its legitimacy and finding many testaments to its validity, I signed up.

I quite like the feeling of being an ambassador of sorts, and even more than that, I love the prospect of getting free beauty products.  (Fingers crossed for Lush things!)  Furthermore, who doesn’t love expressing their opinion online?  On the Influenster website, you can review and ask questions about pretty much any sort of beauty (and food, and snacks, and drinks, and pet supplies, and entertainment, and shopping) products.  So far, I’ve reviewed things from Neutrogena face toners to pasta to Tim Hortons the restaurant.

Image result for influenster

Image result for influenster

Verdict:  I haven’t actually received a Voxbox (that’s what the boxes full of goodies are called) yet, but then again I’ve only been signed up for a day.  The online searching I did yielded positive results about the legitimacy of the website, so I’m in high hopes.  And even if I don’t get anything, no harm done!

A Song A Day

If you love finding new music to listen to, this website/email subscription service is for you!  You can choose which genre(s) of music you’d like to get recommendations for on their site, and one new song will be sent to your inbox everyday from the website’s team of music curators.

concert

I think this idea is ingenious, since everybody loves music but not everyone has time to actively go out and seek new songs.  Also, this service is 100% free (duh, I’m cheap), which makes it definitely worth a try.  Click here for the website!


Music

My favourite part of the monthly spotlight- because who doesn’t love shoving their music into their friends’ faces, right?  As always, clickable Youtube links are included, enjoy!

Trapdoor – twenty one pilots – Twenty One Pilots (2011)

Bleached – IV League – single (2016)

Happy – Mitski – Puberty 2 (2016)

Send Off – Bastille – Wild World (2016)

Love Crime – Siouxsie Sioux & Brian Reitzell – NBC Hannibal Score (2015)

The Greatest – Sia – This is Acting (2016)

Hallelujah – Pentatonix – A Pentatonix Christmas (2016)

Bohemian Rhapsody – Panic! At the Disco (cover) – Suicide Squad: The Album (2016)

Blood Sweat & Tears – BTS – Wings (2016)


Hello there!

Life update time again.  Guess who has an interview next Monday for a blogging volunteer position she’s been wanting since June?  Wish me luck!  Apart from that, life’s been pretty mundane for the past few weeks.  Homework, tests, extracurriculars, repeat.  Has your October been more interesting than mine?  Has it been even duller?  Please feel free to share your experiences (and any music, media, or entertainment recommendations) in the comments!

Finally, if you found this blog post interesting, and would like to see more articles like it, please favourite it and follow me here on WordPress!  The subscribe button is in the top right side of the page.

May November bring you lots of creativity, focus, and clarity!

Thank you so much for reading!

-Yi Nuo

Leave a Reply

