A Lazy Person’s Guide to Living Healthy(ish)

Life of a Lazy Person  

Hey there.  Welcome to the blog.  My name’s Yi Nuo, and I’d like you to know one thing about me: I’m really, really lazy.

Image result for lazy people

I would rather stay at home on my laptop for hours that be outside hiking or running.  I have little enthusiasm for sports.  I love food, especially that of the junk variety, and I do not hesitate to indulge in it.  I know that I have habits that are detrimental to my health, but truthfully, really, honestly, I’m just too lazy to do anything about it.

Living a healthy lifestyle has always seemed like such a colossal, arduous task.  I’ve always been an 100%-or-nothing sort of person, so it seems to me that unless I’m running marathons every day and eating nothing but lettuce, there’s no point in trying to make a change for the better.  I’ll feel like a fraud!

 

My Relationship with My Body

Sometimes, I have negative body image and sometimes I feel pretty good, but most of the time, I don’t think about it at all.  Being a high school student means that I’m often wrapped up in things such as homework, extracurriculars, volunteering, friends, and my own personal ventures (like this blog).  I simply don’t have time to go to the gym all day, eat like a supermodel, or stay motivated all the time.  And even if I did have time, I’m also really stinkin’ lazy!

A Change of Heart

But I’ve been telling myself lately that I need to change the way that I think about things in order to be open-minded.  Being healthy/fit is just one of the things that I’ve been closed-minded about, and therefore written off as impossible for myself.  To tell the truth, I feel that it’s about time to change this.  I don’t want to live a sedentary, unhealthy lifestyle forever.  I don’t want to take my body for granted, I don’t want to feel like crap, I don’t want to be a loser in gym class, and I don’t want to die from health problems I could have prevented.

Beyond the don’t’s, there are also many reasons that I do want to be healthy.  I want to improve my health habits so that I can become better at sports (maybe I’ll even find a sport that I really like!).  I want to feel more comfortable in my own skin, and while 99% of that is mental and learning how to be confident, the other 1% is seeing results.  Even further down the line (like, really far), I want to start living healthy now so that I can instill good habits in my future children.

Maybe writing this blog post can convince me that I will start making a change, out of a good place.  Hopefully after this, I won’t revert back to lazy, unhealthy ways.  But no matter what I end up doing, I hope that you, reader, find this helpful!

TL;DR: I’m lazy.  If you’re lazy too, high five!  (And I immediately take back that high five because I should probably not encourage laziness.)  Despite all the laziness, however, I am interested in leading a healthy lifestyle.  And maybe this is where it begins.  

Enjoy!

motivational-yoga-frogs
Motivational doodle pebbles say: “You can do it!”

 

Step 1: Changing My Thinking

This first step is probably the hardest one.  I have to tell myself that health is not some huge obstacle course that I have to struggle through; health is good habits, both big and small.  Health is not unattainable; health is something I can practice everyday.  Health doesn’t miraculously appear overnight; health is a long-term and often invisible thing.

Even the longest journeys are taken with small steps.  I’m obviously not going to be able to run a marathon on my first day, but I will begin with end in mind.  I can start with something as small as jumping jacks, crunches, and a few minutes of jogging.  What matters is being consistent.  


 

Step 2: Getting Motivated

The internet is man’s best friend- it’s a treasure trove of inspirational quotes, ready-made workout routines, and easy healthy recipes.  Getting on Pinterest or Tumblr, and finding some visuals and goals, will make the entire health/fitness journey seem that much more rewarding.  Youtube is a great resource to find recipe and exercise videos, and there are literal millions of options to choose from!

Besides getting pumped and excited about being healthy, it’s also important to get informed.  I will do research into what sort of healthy habits will be the right fit for my lifestyle.  I will also make sure to learn what unhealthy habits are, and try to change my ways.  Lastly, and perhaps the most important aspect of all, is knowing that I’m in this for the long haul.  Changes in your body occur over time, and it will take months to see results.

 


 

Step 3: Compromise

One way to think about living a healthy lifestyle is to consider as a practice of synergy.   Synergy is when two or more individuals in groups are able to work together effectively; to have successful synergy, one must learn to compromise.

What does compromise look like in starting a healthy lifestyle?  For starters, how about when sitting at desk for a long time,  you get up and move around, or do an in-desk exercises.  Or ditching the all-or-nothing mindset, and just focussing on doing your best to eat clean and keep your body moving?  Or instead of cooking with unhealthy ingredients, substitute them with healthy ones:

Image result for fitblr
source: katyGracefully
Image result for healthy food alternatives
source: Pinterest

Lifestyles, like people, work better together.  Instead of thinking of ‘healthy living’ as something alien and separate from your day-to-day life or a dreadful chore that you are loath to do, think of it as a necessary element of living that will make you better because of it.  Teamwork makes the dream work!  Realise that healthy living is a valuable member of the team, and not your enemy.


 

Step 5: Make it Easy

Make your life super simple.  Washing, peeling, and cutting fruits and veggies may seem a grueling task, but you can eliminate some of that by buying frozen produce.  Alternatively, there are many gadgets and gizmos to be found in stores or online that will reduce the amount of time and effort needed to prepare healthy, delicious foods.  From air fryers to apple corers to banana slicers (yep, they exist- for the ultimate lazy person), just google what you need and it will appear.  Before you go grocery shopping, find simple recipes and write a grocery list with the necessary ingredients.

Image result for simple healthy grocery list
Try using a grocery list template the next time you go, and stock up on healthy essentials! (source: Greatist)

There are also many recipes to be found online and in bookstores.  Most of the time, health books in bookstores are beautifully written and photographed, and evoke vibes of the type of lifestyle I want to live.  Yoga at dawn and green smoothies and all that.  On the other hand, it’s important to realize that the green-smoothie-yoga-at-dawn vision is not always an attainable one- and that’s ok!  We should all strive to live our own versions of healthy.

(Note: when searching for books and such resources, beware of things like fad diets.  They’re bad news!)

As for working out, I’ve got good news for us lazy people.  Scientific studies have shown that short bursts of exercise are actually more effective than long periods!  That said, the short workouts have to be intensive (ouch), but you can get through them by having your goal in mind- and with a good playlist.  Besides, now you can never again back out of a workout by saying, “I don’t have time”.  When a workout only takes 12 minutes, you’d have to be the busiest person on earth not to do it!

Image result for short intense workouts
source: Popsugar

Step 6: Do it Because You Love Yourself!

I’m sure you’ve seen magazines and websites advertising fad diets.  Lose 20 pounds in two weeks!  Get rid of carbs in your diet!  Restrict calories to get that model bod!  Be aware of these.  Some of the suggestions and tips who have their praises sung in the media are useful.  But on the other hand, they may also be hurting you.

Things like calorie-counting, weigh-ins, and body-shaming are not going to help anyone live a healthy lifestyle.  Because while you may get to your ‘goal weight’, you still won’t be happy- and that’s not healthy.  To live a healthy lifestyle, you have to learn to treat your body with respect.  You feed it healthy foods, and you strengthen it with exercise because you want and deserve to treat yourself better.  

Image result for positive body image and health
source: heretohelp

 

Love yourself and make progress at the same time.  Changing the way you look, however drastic, will never be able to cure negative body image.  Numbers truly mean nothing, since everyone’s body is literally physically unique, and different things work for different people.  Try different things, and find activities and habits that you genuinely enjoy, instead of having to drag yourself to the gym day after day.

Practice self-love, confidence, and positive body image.  Treat your body the way you’d treat a best friend, with respect and adoration, and you will find yourself much happier and healthier.

Image result for body healthy and happy
source: chibird

 


 

(Disclaimer: In no way am I a health expert or personal trainer.  This blog post has been a statement of a combination of my own personal experiences, opinions, and research- which may or may not work for you!)

Hey there!

First off, thanks so so so much if you’re reading this right now.

I have more reason than ever to be thankful, because my blog! Just hit! Six subscribers!  I’m laughing/crying because six is by no means a big number at all, but the sheer fact that six whole, complete, unique, multi-faceted human beings thought that my writing was good enough to subscribe to, makes me so incredibly emotional.  I truly, honestly appreciate each and every person that takes precious time out of their day to read my ramblings and thoughts.  It’s just amazing.  Golly gee.  Thank you so much!

Now, since November’s already almost come and gone (holy cannoli where did the time go), it’s time to get excited for… Christmas!  I may or may not have something extra special planned, so stay in tune and I’ll keep you posted.  If you liked this blog post, please feel free to leave a comment and favourite it.  And follow me here on WordPress-  the button’s at the top right of this page!

Thank you so much for reading!

-Yi Nuo

Leave a Reply

