February Music Spotlight 2017

Where’s My Love – SYML – Hurt For Me (2016) 

There’s nothing better than discovering a new artist and falling completely, utterly in love with them.  How had I never discovered SYML before??  Their sound is so peaceful and ethereal, haunting and striking, and just wooooow.

I love this song of theirs more than words can describe.  It’s something that transcends description with words; saying that it’s beautiful or moving just wouldn’t be doing it justice.  It’s wistfulness and hurt and joy and love and vulnerability all in one song, a work of art that embodies the simplicity of human nature.  I could listen to it fifty times in one day, and I really couldn’t recommend it more!

Ständchen (from Schwanengesang, D957) – Franz Schubert (1797-1828)

Okay, so there’s a bit of a backstory behind this seemingly random classical piece.  When I was a tiny child, my mom used to play these cassette tapes for me.  They had audio recordings of classical stories, like Cinderella and Little Red Riding Hood, translated into Mandarin.  I have no idea where those cassettes are now, but back in the day, I listened to them so many times that I knew pretty much all the stories by heart.

Anywho, the audio stories also happened to have a very nice classical music soundtrack layered behind them, and I very distinctly remember this piece, Schubert’s Ständchen, being ‘the song’ for the story of The Little Mermaid.  But before this month, I never knew the piece’s name, so it existed only in my memories.  But thank God for Spotify, because this came up in a playlist I was listening to while doing homework, and you bet I was instantly thrown back about a decade to when I was listening to the cassette tapes while probably eating crackers and scribbling on paper with crayon, or whatever it is that five-year-olds spend their time doing.  Talk about nostalgia!  Cassettes are little more than ancient history now!  I’m too young to feel old, but here I am, feeling old.

30 Seconds – Vinyl Theatre – Origami (2017)

When I saw this pop up in my Spotify recommended, I couldn’t contain my excitement.  I! Love! Vinyl! Theatre! So much!

Seriously, they’re such an underrated band, and I hope that their new album (named Origami, releasing May 12th, pre-order at www.vinyltheatre.com!!!) gets a lot of attention- enough so that maybe Hot Topic will start stocking their merch, because ya girl’s got a shopping problem and might as well spend her money supporting a great band, right?

30 Seconds is one of their four pre-released singles.  The other three are The Island, My Faultand New Machines.  I’ve already listened to all of them many, many (many) times and let me tell you, they don’t disappoint!  So if you’re into alt-pop or just looking for a new jam, let me introduce you to Vinyl Theatre!

(Perpetually internally screams until May 12th because GUYS VINYL THEATRE IS REALLY REALLY RELEASING A NEW ALBUM AHHHHHHH)

 

Chemicals – Tenterhook – Tenterhook (2014)

Every nuance of Tenterhook’s soulful lyrics and vocals will give you goosebumps.  This is the sort of music that makes you want to pack you bags and travel to some far-off country, just so you can stare out a train window and watch the landscape fly by and pretend you’re in a music video.

Once again, what an underrated band!  They have less than 2k followers on their VEVO channel, and frankly, that’s a damn shame.  This is talent and music that deserves to be listened to.  Please, do yourself a favour today and treat your ears!

(Sidenote, I did some Facebook stalking, and the last time their page was updated was February 2016.  Why must fate be so cruel, allowing me to discover such a great band only to find that they seem to have completely disappeared off the face of the internet?)

 

Spirit Cold – Tall Heights – Neptune (2016)

Beautiful, gentle vocals in harmony.  The touches of cello coming through the instrumentals adds a touch of something wistful and pulling.  Perfect for late nights when you can’t sleep and just need to feel something.

 

In The Morning – FIELDS – In The Morning EP (2015)

Slow, spare, almost lonely in its serenity.  In The Morning by FIELDS is a song that lives up to its name.  It’s gently rhythmic, lulling, coloured through with gentle guitar and vocals that evokes empty grey valleys and clouded morning skies, then builds up to a warmer sound.  The music will calm your nerves and the lyrics will bring you home.

 

Hello there!

I sincerely hope you enjoyed this little compilation of music.  As I said in January 2017 Spotlight, monthly spotlights will now be a list of music recommendations, and their topics will have their own posts!  If you checked out any of these songs and liked them, or have any music recs for me, please feel free to leave a comment- it always brightens up my day when you do!

Thank you so much for reading!

-Yi Nuo

Leave a Reply

