Blade Dancer (a poem)

don’t tell her what to think don’t tell her

how to move.

put your hands on me here, and put your mind elsewhere

no-

No!

paper girls crumble at the touch,

but ashes cannot be burned,

and she

she has been forged in a fire

more devastating than your small ways can fathom.

She has danced on the edge of a knife

that cut her feet,

and when she slipped and fell,

Cleaved her in half

Right where your fingers are.

so don’t think you have any sort of power

over this iron temptress,

this spring lily with her soft velvet petals.

she inhales fear,

exhales pity.

you laughable, cowardly

whisper of a breeze

drawing yourself up to be a hurricane,

just be gone from here.

Be

Gone!

for she is water turned

poison upon taste,

And you’d do best

keep your mouth closed.

the north wind

may blow cold, yes,

but it does not topple mountains.

it frosts her caps and renders her wintry,

but though

she blinks snow

She also breathes

fire.


 

Writing Things Here & There

Guess who’s back with another poem!  I hope you’re pleased with today’s piece, as I certainly had a lot of fun writing it a few weeks back.  Apart from this piece, I’ve got a ton of other poems loaded up on the backburner, which I’m super excited about.  Get ready for an onslaught of poetry in the coming days/weeks!

Lately, as I find myself more and more pressed for time, and, therefore, restricted in the amount of commitment I can put into long-term writing projects, I’ve been brushing up on my poetry skills.  It’s really truly quite cathartic to turn any sort of feeling inside of you, be it anger or gratitude or anguish or longing, into an art form on the page.  Poetry’s open in the sense that it’s so vague and multidimensional, and can be interpreted in any number of ways by any number of people.  Each poem I’ve written has a different personal meaning for me, and it’s so wild and cool that other people might perceive different meanings from what I see.

I’m also in the process of writing a short story inspired by Scandinavian folklore, which is such an interesting cultural and mythological backdrop that I’ve never explored before.  The story’s inspired by this little tidbit thing I stumbled upon while browsing Tumblr: “Vargamor; n. (in Scandinavian mythology) a witch, a psychic, a woman who consorts with wolves”.  Sounds pretty neat, huh?  I have bad news, though.  Somehow, the short story is now almost spanning ten pages.  I can hear my old writing tutor yelling at me.  I’m sorry for shaming your legacy, Readingtown.  Please don’t disown me.

Mini Life Update

Okay, so, lately, I’ve been trying to change the way I think.  About myself, about my life, about people around me.  Ever since this school year started, I’ve noticed a trend towards negativity and pessimism in my thought patterns that wasn’t there before.  I’m not sure if this is a side effect of drastically reducing the average number of hours I sleep at night (from a whopping nine hours in junior high to about six right now, yippee), or if it’s because I am just maturing and coming to the conclusion that life sucks and existence is suffering.  Probably a bit of both.

Either way, I’ve firmly decided that I don’t want to waste any more days of my life feeling sorry for myself.  It’s no way to live.  I don’t want to be ninety years old and suddenly realize that I spent my prime teen years feeling like crap when I totally had the ability and power to change my mindset and not feel like crap.

Also, I watched this video, which may have completely changed my perspective on life and how to act and think and live:

 

To act upon my newfound desire to not hate life and strive shamelessly for success, every time I feeling a negative thought creeping into my head, I just internally yell positive things until I forget the bad thing.  However, this might be seen as a tactic akin to avoidance, which is generally not good.  Eh, we’ll see how it goes.

Speaking of avoidance, I have a math midterm tomorrow and should be studying right now.  I should get back to that.  I will get back to that.  Hopefully.  At some point or another.  Or maybe instead of studying, I’ll spend my time building a shrine to the math gods.  Yes, that sounds much more interesting and productive.

Sigh.  Okay.  POSITIVITY.  On it!

Once again, I hope you enjoyed this poem.  Thank you so much for reading!

-Yi Nuo

Leave a Reply

